46 and a Walker Hallboy

Bogey, Bogey, Bogey, Double, Double, Par, Bogey, Bogey, Bogey…for a 46.  Interestingly, with the lack of rain here in Chicago, the only green section of the public course seems to be the green and the tee box.  And, not even those are very green.   Apparently, those that built the course decided irrigation wasn’t an important aspect of building a golf course.
 
That said, it was another victorious half-round, as I didn’t lose a ball.
 
 
More importantly, I received the following email from corkscrew guru Ron Maclean in reference to the mystery corkscrew mentioned earlier…  
 
"Early 20th century combination caplifter and speedworm corkscrew marketed as the "Hallboy" by Edwin Walker, Erie Pennsylvania.
 
Nice find, does not surface very often."
 
 
So, now we know…and, yes, it is staying in the collection…
 

Hey… I won

After yesterday’s swap/deal, I hopped on ebay for a couple of minutes and saw an interesting corkscrew ending.  I have no idea the patent, maker, or origin.  But, I know that I have seen it somewhere before.  I perused the various books I have, and still can’t find it. 
 
So… I threw out a decent auctionsniper bid, and figured, "if I win, I win…"  I headed off to the airport to pick up the lovely, and upon my return the joyous email arrived.  I had acquired another corkscrew.  Of course, now I have to figure out what the hell it is…