Pig Butt and Codger

On day two of the roadtripping adventure, it was an early morning.  I had a couple hundred miles to drive before arriving at the fairground in Syracuse.  And, knowing the show opened at 9, it made for an early start.

I will mention here, that hotel room coffee is not really coffee.

After downing a cup of not-really-coffee, I was on my way.  And, after a brief stop that claimed to be Starbucks, but apparently served me decaf–a fact that I was only aware of, when I was back on the road again–I continued my journey.

It was early, and dark, and there was little antiquing to be done along the way, and at about 8 in the morning, I arrived in Syracuse.

Seeing that I had a bit of time, I sought out a diner, ordered some breakfast and coffee (hope springs eternal you know) and savored that first hot and fairly strong sip.  Not bad, certainly not great, but it did seem to do the job.

Looking at my iPhone and having not heard from Tommy–who was also driving out for the show, I texted him to see where he was.

Having consumed breakfast, and a few cups of java, when his response came in, I double checked my watch.  The exchange went something like this:

J: Where are you?

TC: 55

J: is that 55 or 5

TC: 55 miles

J (at 8:23) The show opens at 9; Drive Faster!

TC: (then sends this picture)

IMG_6595[1]

 

Okay… he should make it in time for the opening.

After b-fast, I headed back to the show and lined up.  And, was one of the first people through the door–but held back until the appointed time.  Meanwhile, I was providing TC with a countdown, and with 4 minutes to go, a text came through explaining that he was walking to the entrance.

We agreed that he would hunt left, and I would hunt right.

We did.

In the middle of the show, we met up, and shared what we had found.  Nothing!

He headed off to cover the ground I had traveled, and I went back over his area.  When we reconvened, we discussed what we had seen.  A Clough, two NIfties, a Tusk with Sterling (overpriced), and Welch Grape Juice Walker, and a couple of simple T pulls.

There were, however, lots and lots of Hummels; if you are into that sort of thing…

IMG_0542

 

Really?  Hummels?

Anyway, I proceeded to search diligently, and managed to find a Colonial Crafts Pig Corkscrew with a price of 32.50…. Why the extra 50 cents?

I picked it up, and brought it over to the dealer, who looked at me, looked at the price tag, and the same time we both said 25.  I reached into my pocket, and pulled out 20 and 4 ones.  Not having another 1 dollar bill, I said 24!  He reluctantly agreed.

Not the corkscrew that I was hoping for, but that was the best thing at the show…unless TC had picked up something on the other side.

When we saw each other again, he had picked up a Clough with sheath.  And, that was about it.

250 dealers and 40 minutes later we were already walking out the door.

IMG_0540 copy

Having exhausted the “hummel” show, we decided to hit up the Syracuse Antiques Exchange, as surely there would be corkscrews there.  And, there was.  Two actually, a Gemelli Bar Maid, that remains at the store, and an Old Codger, which Tommy picked up.

IMG_0554

 

With many miles to go–as each of us were planning to head back towards home, we headed over to a local brewery for lunch, exchanged the latest news, and said our goodbyes.  Which are really temporary, as Tommy is flying to Maine on Tuesday for a few days.

Tommy, I promise there are indeed corkscrews in Maine : )

After lunch, I did try to get a few miles under my belt, and this morning hit the road again, ultimately ending up back on the island.

Funny that the show didn’t really pan out, but it has been a fun driving adventure.  And, other corkscrews have been found.

For those anxiously awaiting pictures, this little baby was picked up along the way as well…

IMG_0534

 

Will any corkscrews be found today?  We can only hope!  Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

