Rydquist Rienzi

A Rydquist patent corkscrew was listed on our second favorite online auction site recently, and this one was in nice condition, and carried on it an advertisement for Rienzi Beer.

rienzi

With a healthy buy it now price, but with the option of making a best offer, I thought about it for a moment, and then noticed there had been an offer already that was declined.

Hmmmmm…

I put out an offer, that was fair…

Declined…

Hmmmmm…

I went back, and looked at past ICCAuction listings, to see what has recently been paid for a Rydquist.

$105 for one with an advertisement for EC Campbell Coal, 555 Lyell Ave, Phone 547
$400 for one with an advertisement for New England Brewing Hartford, Conn
$150 for one with an advertisement for Moerlbach
and $240 for one with an advertisement for Maltosia.

Still, the ad looked familiar to me, but it wasn’t that I had seen the Rydquist with corkscrew emblazoned with Rienzi. The Rienzi was in an advertisement for the Rydquist itself.

reinzyl

I considered my original offer, and thought… What would be fair for both the seller and myself. And, as importantly, what would TWJ do…?

I upped my offer just a bit.

And, that did the trick.

rienzlrydquist

Will this end up in TWJ’s collection? If only he had some trade bait handy : )

Leave a Reply

