it’s indescribably beautiful

“Oh, look at that! Will you look at that? Isn’t that glorious? It’s… it’s… it’s indescribably beautiful!”

xmas

At least that was Mr. Parker’s opinion of the leg lamp in A Christmas Story.

And, while I will not be starting a leg lamp collection anytime soon, this afternoon an interesting leg corkscrew was listed on eBay with a decent buy it now (or best offer) option.

I saw the piece, and thought it looked familiar. But, I wasn’t quite sure.

Still, I placed an offer, and went back to the task at hand (antiquing as it were). As I left the shop (without any corkscrew purchases) it occurred to me. I have my little netbook with me!

And, what is on my netbook?

Screwbase!!!

So, in the parking lot I pulled up screwbase, punched in “leg” and clicked through the various listings. And, then, there it was. I knew I had seen it before!

Forget the offer, I thought to myself. This one is mine.

I clicked the BIN button, and paid.

leggy2

Having never seen another one of these sell, I figured the asking price was reasonable, and proceeded to call TC for any ideas. With Tommy unavailable, I dialed (not that I actually dialed) the wineleopard, and we talked about the leg (you should have clicked Robbie!).

Quite pleased with my purchase, I finished my errands (which included a new macbook air) and headed back to the boat, and then back to the island.

The leg will arrive in a couple of days, but I would agree with Mr. Parker.

It’s… it’s… it’s indescribably beautiful!”

Leave a Reply

