Brimfield Day Three

Given that I have to hit the road on Thursday, the third day of Brimfield is really about two hours long. The first hour is driving there, getting coffee, and standing in line. And, then when May’s field opens at 9:00, there is about an hour of walking around asking if people have corkscrews, and hoping that as you turn a corner there will be one laying out on a dealer’s table.

Yesterday morning, there was much walking, much asking, and few corkscrews.

There were three Walker corkscrews, one that the dealer claimed was a whale tooth handle, one stag handled, and one was carved, but it was missing it’s silver end cap and the Walker bell was broken off. For the pseudo-whale and carving $ 400.00! I moved on.

At another booth there was a woman that had a Popeye corkscrew, a thomason, a negabaur pig, and one other that I can’t remember at the moment. The popeye was priced at $ 750.00!!!

I passed.

A few Cloughs, Walkers, and Willimasons, and with my departure time approaching (to ensure that I get back to the Ferry–some 230 miles away–I headed towards the gate).

But, not before going down one more aisle. At the end of the aisle, I glanced in a booth and saw a Davis. I asked to see it, and while there was no advertising upon it, I figured I would pick it up anyway. Asking the price, the guy explained that he had a sterling corkscrew in another case.

Things were looking up.

I went over to look at that one, and he presented me with a Sterling example of the Williamson bottle roundlet. In nice shape, with an unusual raised band where the two pieces screw together, I asked his price.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In our negotiations we realized that we had done business before, and soon enough a deal was made. Two corkscrews with minutes to go.

As I was completing the deal, BT was approaching, and we had a brief discussion about the field lacking in corkscrews. He had picked up a Bennit patent, and surely would make another round to see if anything else was pulled out of boxes stashed in cars, vans, and trucks–this is often the case at May’s, and it pays to walk the field multiple times.

After saying our goodbyes, I headed off to the x-terra, and began the drive home. All in all, a pretty good few days at Brimfield.

Nothing truly rare, and I think the two Syroco Indians are definitely the best find of the trip. Although, in showing all of the twisted treasures to the lovely personal trainer last night, she liked the sterling bottle the best.

Leave a Reply

