Ugly Corkscrews

It has been fun receiving the multiple “favorite” corkscrew submissions, and maybe we can keep it going, but in a different direction.

I was emailing back and forth with AB, not AB from Rochester mind you, but AB from the DC area, and we were chatting about ugly corkscrews that are in our respective collections. Not those silly grapevine handled corkscrews, but those corkscrews that we have, but are…well…not particularly attractive.

Much to his chagrin, I put the Syroco Golden Knight in that category.

Is it rare, sure. Is it aesthetically pleasing? Well, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and when I got my fist one, I did think it looked like a hood ornament from a 77 Monte Carlo.  Not that the 77 Monte Carlo had a hood ornament, but if it did…

Or perhaps, it resembles a wayward award for some acting accomplishment–best supporting portrayal of a knight whilst engaging in cinematic fisticuffs.

Whenever I do pick it up, I do feel compelled to thank the academy…

syrocoknightview

Still, I have a Syroco Knight in the collection, which stands proudly, and somewhat hood-ornamently, with the other Syrocos in the collection–he also is still adorned with the five dollar price tag from when I bought him. To this day, it brings a smile to my face, knowing that on a shelf in some random antique mall, such things can be found.

And, that the academy enjoyed my performance…

So, I will ask all of you. what is the ugly corkscrew in your collection–no grapevines.

What rare or hard to find corkscrew, when it arrived, or when you first got it in your hands, did you say, “really???”

Maybe it is a poor mechanism. Maybe it is just less than aesthetically pleasing. Maybe it just was poorly made. What say you?

Feel free to send pictures, and a few comments to Josef@vintagecorkscrews.com

Leave a Reply

