That is one ugly corkscrew Ian…

This just in from Ian Hunter:

I reckon I’ve nailed it! In the hand it’s even uglier than it looks. The nails feel seriously gross!

This is no grapevine rubbish. It’s marked with a registered design number (Australian). And also marked “Australian Kangaroo paw”. A genuine quality item made in Melbourne in the 70’s I believe:

DSC_0795[6]

DSC_0796[15]

Sometimes comes with a can punch;

iancanpunch

It also has great provenance. Purchased from the Nick Hunt Collection in a moment of weakness (Nick’s….) in 2008 for a mouth watering 30 bucks….

I’m sure Nick made a good profit.

I was also sure that I had the winning entry until I googled “Kangaroo paw corkscrew” and found this beauty!

and don’t miss the video:

I’ve seen them before and never bought one. But I’ve just ordered one now to make sure I don’t have any fresh competition…..

Thanks for the note Ian, those are some ugly corkscrews!

Leave a Reply

