The adventure begins…

Or, continues really…

Yesterday, the lovely personal personal trainer and I hopped on the boat, and headed to the mainland. And, after a brief stop in Rockland, I headed to the Union Antiques show, and she headed to the place where Philos will be boarded during out trip.

After parking at the show, I made my way to the first line of vendors, and picked up an interesting metal handled t-pull corkscrew for 8 dollars. And, shortly after that a Havell bow for a dollar. And, that was pretty much it as far as corkscrews as they day began.

Of course, the evil corkscrew dealer was there. Not that he is truly evil, he is just way overpriced, and once tried to slam the lid of his corkscrew case on my hands–apparently you aren’t supposed to touch anything, even though he opened the case for you to do so. This was many years ago, but I just avoid him.

A little bit later the lovely joined me at the show, and we perused the vendors’ offerings finding a few more things. I even broke down and bought a Negbaur Parrot. It was the normal version, but instead of having a huge price tag, with claims of being art-deco or with some other descriptor, it was 8 dollars. And, I figured, what the heck?

What was most interesting about the show, was that I received multiple requests for business cards–having worn a shirt that mentioned that I collect corkscrews. And, this wasn’t one or two requests, it was over half a dozen, with one dealer describing the folding celluloid lady, one describing a small collection, and another a Chinnock.

Armed with many business cards, I handed them over, and we will see which of those leads pans out.

The rest of the day was spent driving down to Boston with a few brief stops, and this evening–after bopping around Boston for the afternoon–we will board a plane to Munich, and then land in Madrid Monday morning.

For those wondering what corkscrews will be offered up at the ICCA Auction section of the program, here are 6 that will be included in the printed catalog. It is always fun to put up some unusual figurals, as BK simply loves them.

auctionpick

(Of course there are about 50 others that I am bringing to the buy and sell).

On another corkscrew note, just before packing up, a Detroit Leg corkscrew (not the fancy kind) was listed on eBay (not in the corkscrew section of eBay) for a very fair buy it now price.

leggy

I snapped it up. How could I not?

Again, I will report back with stories of our adventures and pictures as time allows.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

