But, you said that you, “…made a commitment to a few.”

Okay, I know that a couple of days ago in mentioning Don Bull’s corkscrew sale that I had “made a commitment to a few.”

Four actually.

Not that I wouldn’t have wanted to add even more to the collection. And, I was tempted by several others. Still, I knew that Tommy would be after a couple pieces, and a couple had been sold even before I jumped in.

And, there may be others that make their way to the island, and I am anxiously awaiting the next round of corkscrew pages (and the next).

What were the four?

The 1914 Josephine Spielbauer patent mentioned yesterday:

spielbauer

A glass bowl dosage cup. This would be the 1882 American Patent # 254,760 of J. Henry Zeilin. The Sterling examples do turn up, although not often. The glass example, I have never seen before. How could I resist?

zeilin

I also grabbed the 1917 Otto Gessler patent (#1,218,757) for a Compound Tool. A fairly simple looking piece; I only know of a couple that have been found, and thus far it seems, no one has found it with the sheath as shown in the patent drawing.

gessler

And, finally (not that this is final, as I have no doubt there will be others in the coming weeks) I picked up the folding/bow example of the 1888 Greeley patent. A very cool little corkscrew, that I have been after years!

foldinggreeley

Will there be a fifth? I have no doubt that there will be. And, you just never know what will be turning up on our next antiquing trip, on the next auction, or…

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

