Converse-ly…

The other day, Don Bull sent out an email explaining that he would be adding cork pullers and cork retrievers to his for sale site.  And, within the description he mentioned the Bottle King, a pre-patent Converse, and several others.

As I tend to focus on American corkscrews, the Bottle King (that would be Kahlen and Jordan’s patent) and the “Converse Patent (including pre-patent & advertising)” were of particular interest.

The morning the pages went live, I ran into the house–having been outside splitting firewood–opened up the macbook, and took a gander.

Fortunately, I have the Bottleking already–having acquired that this year in a trade with Barry.  And, as fortune would have it, I already have the “Pre-patent Converse.”  I picked that one up on eBay several years ago, and actually picked up a second one not too long ago–which promptly made its way into J.M.’s collection, as he was looking for it.

So, I scrolled right past those two, and several others until I saw a couple of Converse cork pullers with advertising.

As many of you know, I have a small collection of Converses.  And, so I fired off an email to Don, expressing my interest.

I also went through the other pages as well, but those three were the ones.

A bit later that morning, I received an email explaining that I was not the first one in.  And, I wasn’t even the second one in?

Really?

Nope!

TC apparently was Johnny on the spot, and expressed his interest in two of the pieces I wanted.  And, TWJ, actually beat me by a minute as well!

Well, at least I got one–of course it wasn’t an example that has advertising, but it is pretty cool.

englishvariant

Having read Don’s email again, I fired off an email to TC, simply asking “Really?”

And, being the good friend that Tommy is, he sent off an email to Don saying that the two advertising Converse belong in my collection.

Thanks TC.  You rock!

So, there are two more Converse with advertising heading to the island!

One with advertising on the sheath for Houlihan Bros.

houlihan.jpg

The second, has advertising across the wooden handle.

ritter

Soon, these will be added to the list of known advertisements on the Converse website.

ALAMEDA COMPANY, WINE AND BRANDIES, 104 TREMONT STREET, BOSTON, MASS.

C.H. RITTER, SOLE PROP’RS, DETROIT, MICH, WESTMINSTER RYE WHISKEY

COMPLIMENTS OF FRIEDMAN, KEILER & CO., DISTILLERS OF BROOK HILL

CW GRIFFING, WHOLE SALE LIQUOR DEALER, FARRELL, P.A.

ELMORE BOURBON, ARTHUR LEHMANN & CO PEORIA, ILL

FRANK RIPLEY WHISKEY BEST FOR FAMILY USE, L. HEINEMAN JAMESTOWN N.Y.

HOLIHAN BROS, WHOLESALERS TO THE PEOPLE, LAWRENCE, MASS

LEHMANN’S RYE – ARTHUR LEHMANN & CO. – PEORIA, ILL.

MC CORMICK’S STRAIGHT WHISKEY

If you have a Converse cork puller with different advertising, drop me a line. I would be interested in acquiring it.  And, if it is one you would rather not part with, just send pictures, I would love to add it to the list.

Thanks for the deal Don.

And, thank you Tommy!

 

Leave a Reply

