Two collectors weigh in…

I had sent an email out to a couple of people to get their opinion on the Logan’s (potential) prong puller.

Here are two responses:

Wow -I have never seen this puller before, the sheath and prongs are are quite long but I think it looks real, I certainly would have taken a chance. I assume the sheath fits through the prong openings?
The sheath sure has a large area for advertising neat design, perhaps a patent could have been considered but never “applied for”.
Continued happy hunting,

And,

Interesting. Don’t know, wouldn’t rule it out, but: If designed as a cork puller the tips would be flattened to easily slide between cork and bottle neck. On the other hand, it appears that the sheath fits into the loop to serve as a T handle, but for what? To wind something up, to unlock something, ??? Don’t know. Holler if you get a good answer – very unusual.

It will be interesting to get a better look at it when it arrives, but until then… Feel free to weigh in!

cork puller or not a cork puller???

This morning, on our second favorite auction site, an interesting cork puller had been listed. At least, it was billed as a cork puller.

And, as fortune would have it, it also had a fairly low buy it now. I looked at the item, then looked again, then looked again. It was at the same time, somewhat of a mystery, but also somewhat familiar.

Of course, with a low buy it now, if I hesitated, it was entirely possible that it could end up in the clutches of another collector.

I went back to the listing one more time, and clicked the buy it now button.

After paying for the item, I again read the description.

Up for auction we have this vintage Advertising cork screw puller from Logan’s Williamsport Pa.. It measures 5 inches long . Its in nice condition with light wear. Surely a great item to add to your collection

logans

5 inches? I went over to the corkscrew case, and checked the Clough’s that I have. Most to the wooden sheaths that I have for the Clough’s in my collection are about 2 – 2 1/2 inches.

Hmmm…

Based on the seller’s explanation that the piece is 5 inches long, that puts the prongs themselves at about 3 inches. About the right size for a beer or wine cork. But, is this a cork puller?

I also considered that this might be a longer sheath that used to cover a Clough direct puller (with the hot dog shaped handle). But, those usually have a rounded end.

Hmmmm…

Now, I did peruse the back of O’Leary as I have never seen anything like this. And, there is a 1904 Kennedy patent that is a similar idea, but the drawings don’t match up exactly.

From the pictures, it is hard to see if the little prongs, would function as a prong puller should. But, could they?

logans2

When it arrives next week, I will take better pictures, but based on the two that were part of the listing, and with Logan unavailable to answer the question, what do you think?

A Cork Puller, or Not a Cork Puller And, if Not, what is it?